What is your hair problem?

 



Introduction

“Can the papyrus grow up without a marsh? Can the rushes grow without water?”

Job 8:11


J.E. Wise & B.E.K. Royal

 

I can grow hair. Let me rephrase that. I can grow my hair. I did. You can grow your hair too! The thing about growing hair is understanding how hair grows. In another blog posting I’ll go into the stages. But for now, I want to discuss another  important aspect of hair growth.cropped-screenshot_2017-04-07-20-44-47.png

For as long as I can remember, I have always had a strong appreciation for hair–healthy hair. I was five years old when I gazed at a picture of a woman with what I thought was glorious hair. I decided, then and there, that I wanted my hair to look just like that. Impossible as this occurrence was given the fact that I’m black and the woman in the picture was white, I think I equated length with beauty more so than beautiful hair being a factor of texture and type.

And, I had beautiful hair. I remember my mom would braid my hair in intricate braided styles that many  would find beautiful and intriguing– I know this because people often approached me or my sisters and showered us with compliments. Yes, I had beautiful hair. It was short. It was kinky, but it was beautiful. But, I wanted length. On one occasion, my mom had braided both mine and my twin sister’s hair. It was when she had completed the hairstyle that I admired and appreciated each beautiful and intricate cornrow on my sister’s head. It was also at that moment that I realized my sister’s hair was longer and softer than mine and, as a result, far more beautiful than mine. I was troubled by this and questioned my mother about it. To me, the difference in hair length between me and my sister was her fault. I begged her to grow my hair as if the secret to length rested in her hands. She tried to reason with me, but my five year old mind would not comprehend. My mom suggested that I pray. We did. And I did. Placing pictures of women with glorious hair under my pillow, many nights before bed and sometimes during the day–just because, I went down on my knees and prayed.  This began my lifelong journey to grow my own hair and to maintain, not just healthy hair, but length

The secret to length does rest in our hands. And it is not that much of a secret!

I have always admired healthy hair. It doesn’t matter if It’s African hair, Asian hair, Caucasian hair, Dominican hair– whatever the hair, it doesn’t matter. Whether it’s straight or kinky, healthy hair is beautiful hair. Today, I am 40. I rarely visit the hair salon–not because I don’t trust the ability of hair care professionals, I do. I have had the pleasure and experience of skilled hair stylists from Georgia to Florida work on my hair. Quality hair care stylists for maintenance and beautification can be costly, and sometimes, my money was funny. Nevertheless, my hair flows down my back thick, healthy, shiny and beautiful in spite of the fact that for over 20 years, I have been relaxing my hair. That’s right, I discovered how to grow my hair. Hair Growth is very much a maintaining-length process.

Whether you are natural or you prefer a relaxed look (like me), the methods I used and continue to use involve many contemporary techniques which could also prove to be beneficial for you in part or as a whole. In this brief guide, I will share my experience and important information I have discovered over the years with you. I have tried almost everything. I have discovered what works for me and what doesn’t. I have shared it with friends and family. My method works! It worked for me! I have titled this series of articles for this guide on what I have discovered is the number one underlying problem that many face when dealing with unhealthy hair and hair that appears not to grow. The culprit is thirsty hair!


© 2017 Wise & Royal, LLC.


Leave a Reply

